Go to global navigation menu Go to sidebar menu Go to contents

Hwayoung’s out and Dani’s in: T-ara stays with eight-member system

Recently, the girl group T-ara decided to keep the number of its members up to eight by replacing Hwayoung with Dani.

On July 30, the group’s official Japanese website made an announcement along with a posting regarding the cancellation of Hwayoung’s contract.

The announcement read: “T-ara will perform for some time with Ah Reum as its seventh member. Dani will be joining the group after a period of preparation, which will give the group eight members in total.”

Since its debut in 2009, T-ara has changed members several times.

The group debuted in April 2009 with a song for the sound track of the TV series Cinderella Man. The original members were Jiwon, Jiae, Ji Yeon, Eunjung, and Hyomin; however, in July of the same year, Jiwon and Jiae quit the group and were replaced by Boram, Soyeon, and Qri.

In July 2010, Hwayoung joined the group as its seventh member and Areum as the eighth in 2012.

Along with the change of its members, leadership moved from one person to another. Eunjung was the first leader while Boram, Hyomin, and Soyeon each held leadership consecutively after thoroughly considering each of them for effectiveness in leading the group and in Japanese activities.

©2015 Korea.com Communications Co.,Ltd. All rights reserved. All contents provided on this Website may not be copied, reproduced, republished, displayed, modified, uploaded, posted, or distributed, other than for personal use, without the express prior written permission of the copyright holder. For permission, contact [copyright at en.korea.com]